madelynruth (at) gmail (dot) com

www.madelynrosenberg.com
Speakers Bureau Page

Madelyn Rosenberg

I’ve always been a storyteller and I think part of the reason is that my parents fed me Freakies Cereal when I was a kid. Freakies (RIP) had copious amounts of sugar, which is where many good stories begin. How else could you explain why so many writers are addicted to chocolate? The cereal box provided the backstory: The hungry Freakies discover a tree that grows all-you-can-eat breakfast cereal. And each box included a small figure – one of the aforementioned Freakies, who had names like Hamhose and Snorkledorf. Every morning, I would take the little figures and create a new story.

Since that time, it has been my ambition to write a story line for a cereal product, but Kellogg’s has not come calling. Neither has General Mills. But a few publishers have and for now, that will do very nicely.

I spent many years as a journalist, so newspapers tend to find their way into my stories, whether as party hats (Happy Birthday, Tree) or as a communication device (Canary in the Coal Mine). I spent my last years in journalism as a music writer, so I tend to work in musical references where I can. I am currently working on revisions for a new middle-grade novel in which I get to reference my own breakfast cereal, bringing everything full circle.

I'm the author of four picture books and three middle grade novels, with more on deck. I also have a YA novel, Dream Boy, written with my friend, Mary Crockett, whom I met when we taught a creative writing class for teens at the local Y.

To learn more about me, visit http://www.madelynrosenberg.com.

To contact me, try madelynruth (at) gmail (dot) com. On Twitter, follow @madrosenberg.

For information about author visits, see my Speakers Bureau page.

My Books

Canary in the Coal MineCanary in the Coal Mine: Bitty is a canary whose courage more than makes up for his diminutive size. Of course, as a miner bird who detects deadly gas leaks in a West Virginia coal mine during the Depression, he is used to facing danger. Tired of perilous working conditions, he escapes and hops a coal train to the state capital to seek help in improving the plights of miners and their canaries. In the tradition of E.B. White, George Selden, and Beverly Cleary's Ralph S. Mouse, Madelyn Rosenberg has written a singular novel full of unforgettable characters.http://www.holidayhouse.com/title_display.php?ISBN=9780823426003

The Schmutzy FamilyThe Schmutzy Family: On Sunday the Schmutzys drag in dirt from the malodorous Feldman Swamp. On Monday they make mud pies, and on Tuesday they smear spaghetti sauce. So it goes until Friday morning, when it’s time to be not-so-schmutzy. Will the family be able to get the house ready in time for Shabbos? http://www.holidayhouse.com/title_display.php?ISBN=9780823423712

Happy Birthday TreeHappy Birthday, Tree: A Tu B’Shevat Story: It’s Tu B’Shevat, the Birthday of the Trees, and Joni is looking for a present for her favorite climbing tree. It has to be something special, something every tree really needs — but what? Joni and her neighbor, Nate, try various gifts, but none seem exactly right. Then Joni has the perfect solution — for this tree and for all the trees of the world. http://www.albertwhitman.com/content.cfm/bookdetails/Happy-Birthday-Tree
Nanny XNanny X: This action-packed and hilarious novel introduces a Mary Poppins for the twenty-first century. What kind of nanny wears a motorcycle jacket, mirrored sunglasses, and a straw hat with flowers on top? The kind Jake and Ali get, when their mom goes back to work as a lawyer. The kids don't think they need a nanny. And when they discover Nanny X is actually a secret agent, it turns out that she might be the one who needs them. http://www.holidayhouse.com/title_display.php?ISBN=9780823431663
Nanny X ReturnsNanny X Returns: Something fishy's going on in this second book about Nanny X and her young charges. A mysterious artist, known only as "The Angler," is threatening the president. If a statue of a giant fish isn't installed on the White House Lawn, pronto, the nation's treasures may be in jeopardy.
http://www.holidayhouse.com/title_display.php?ISBN=9780823435333

Dream BoyDream Boy: Written with Mary Crockett, this YA novel is the story of Anabelle Manning, who dreams of the perfect boy -- and then sees him walk into her chemistry class. It looks like she's found a date to homecoming. But what we find when we wake isn't always the answer to our dreams. And when dreams come true, so do nightmares. 
http://www.sourcebooks.com/store/dream-boy.html

How to Behave at a Tea PartyHow to Behave at a Tea Party: What happens when opinionated Julia tries to teach her carefree little brother, Charles, how to behave at a tea party? This sweet and silly take on the classic manners theme is filled with sibling antics, laugh-out-loud moments, big imagination, and plenty of heart. It's also perfect for parents of tantrum-throwing preschoolers looking to impart some wisdom on how to cope with life's surprises. http://www.harpercollins.com/9780062279262/how-to-behave-at-a-tea-party
How to Behave at a Dog ShowHow to Behave at a Dog Show: Is Rexie cut out to be Best in Show? Probably not. Does Julia enter him in the Happy Tails Best of Breed Dog Show anyway? She sure does. This companion to How to Behave at a Tea Party offers readers more laugh-out-loud silly fun with sister-brother duo Julia and Charles and their lovably mischievous dog, Rexie. With subtle themes of losing gracefully and celebrating the things that make each of us winners in our own ways, this book is perfect for preschool and early elementary children and for anyone who has ever loved a less-than-perfect pet. http://www.harpercollins.com/9780062279279/how-to-behave-at-a-dog-show

 

 

 

Newsletter

Calendar

Author Visits

Book Trailers